Skip to content

runthreeseven

.living well.

I spoke in my last blog very briefly about time management and the lovely Liz @ FitDefinition mentioned that one of her tips to manage time is cooking and storing food for the week at work.
I’ve been eating breakfast at my desk and as much as I adore my Oat Crisp Almond cereal – I needed a change.
I found this recipe for Wholemeal Banana Muffins on NibbleDish and then edited it ever so slightly…

They came out really well. A bit heavy though, but very filling.

Hope you like it…

Ingredients:
30g Unsalted Butter
60g Clear Honey
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
2 Large, Very Ripe Bananas
150g Wholemeal Self Raising Flour
1 Heaped tsp Baking Power
1/2 tsp Bicarb
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
Pinch of Salt
2 Tblsp Light Peanut Butter

METHOD:
1. Melt butter, honey and vanilla over low heat. Leave to cool for a few minutes
2. Mash Bananas in a bowl
3. Measure out flour, raising agents, cinnamon and salt.
4. Mix melted butter with banana
5. Mix into dry ingredients. DO NOT OVER MIX! A lumpy muffin mixture is always good sign
6. Scoop half the amount of mixture for one of the muffins into the greased tray.
7. Add peanut butter to taste. This will melt into the centre of your muffins and taste incredible.
8. Add the other half of the mixture on top.
9. Bake at 190 deg for 25mins

If you don’t like peanut butter, then I highly recommend you add slivered almonds to the top of the mixture once in the trays.

If you try this recipe let me know your thoughts.

