Skip to content

runthreeseven

.living well.

I don’t know about you guys, but not much excites me the way grocery shopping does. Sad? Maybe, but unpacking all my fresh produce and little ingredients when I get home makes me the happiest of happy campers. Only thing that I enjoy more (this is the OCD in me) is when I arrive at a supermarket and everything is packed away neatly and in perfect order so that it looks like an organised food utopia.

What I am realising though is that this little fetish of mine costs me almost double per week what a usual bill should be. I also am too aware that grocery bills are infinitely cheaper if you were to buy all processed pre-packaged meals and frozen goods. I could easily feed myself on less than $50 a week, if I ate 2 Minute noodles, frozen pies and frozen vegetables. But that really defeats the purpose of what I’m trying to achieve and at the end of the day I value my health and the way I feel over having extra money in the bank. Is it fair that it costs far more to eat healthier? No. Fuck no. It should be the other way around, if you compare the obesity epidemic to that of the poverty line I think you’d find a common ground here. Most people are struggling to afford to be able to feed their children nutritious meals, and when you can buy pre made food for far less which parents are going to choose to be in the kitchen for all hours of the day preparing fresh produce and paying extra for it? Anyway, that’s an arguement to take up with the world another day….

My problem is however realising that my already astronomical bill could increase even further if I were to  switch from standard fresh produce (fruit and vegetables) to organic fresh produce. Have you seen the difference in price? And with bananas currently asking for $12.99 per kilo, it’s hard enough as it is…

So when it comes to organic produce vs regular, what is the difference anyway?

  • Standard vegetables over the years have been bred over time to maximise their size, sugar content and appearance. With organic vegetables you tend to find that they are still more ‘wild’ and therefore contain far more micronutrients and antioxidants, which is the reason we eat vegetables in the first place. As humans we can’t produce micronutrients on our own and that’s why we’re told we need our daily 2 fruits and 5 vegetables  minimum to get all our essential vitamin needs. If the vegetables we are eating have been modified; it’s hard to tell we’re really getting the core value of what we should find in these fruits and vegetables originally.
  • Organic fruit and vegetables are free from pesticides, food additives, and chemical fertilizers. Which basically means you aren’t at risk of any chemical consumption which is better for your body, and organic farming helps reduce any environmental impact.
  • Tastes are varied. There have been blind food tests where people are given two lots of vegetables and asked which plate tastes better, the organic or the standard variety, often with vegetables the organic type was selected but with fruit it was found that the standard produce was selected first. Possibly due to modified sugar content in modified fruit, but obviously, there isn’t a large difference.
  • Costs are varied. I logged onto Coles website earlier to have a look at the difference and this is what I’ve discovered (prices are per kilo):

Carrots:  Standard $1.18 vs. Organic $3.48

Sweet Potato: Standard $2.98  vs Organic $8.56

Broccoli: Standard $3.48 vs Organic $4.48

Mushrooms: Standard $19.90 vs Organic $39.87

  • As you can see – the price difference is ridiculous. I don’t know too much about buying from an organic produce store, but I assume the Coles prices would be fairly similar (if I’m wrong, comment and let me know).
So there you have it, the basic differences – which do you choose? 
I know that I personally pick the regular off the shelf variety non-organic vegetables and fruits, entirely due to the cost factor. If I keep trying to one up myself with my eating clean plans I’m sure that eventually I’ll go towards the organic variety and just deal with the increase in price, as I’m sure that the organic variety truly makes a difference – but at the moment I’ll stick to my regular produce and I’m looking at ordering a bottle of Athletic Greens for nutritional insurance. If you’re worried you’re not getting the right amount of micronutrients from your fruits and vegetables or if you’re really slack with eating fresh produce then you should at least be taking a supplement such as this one to increase your intake of the good stuff and you’ll notice the difference quick-smart.
It’s like putting the wrong petrol in your car, you notice that it runs differently, slower maybe, and before long you need to take it in for a service. Imagine that same scenario with your body, are you fueling it efficiently?  Or are you taking the cheap and easy route and wondering why you always seem to be breaking down? The body should run like a well oiled machine and therefore you should take care of it like one.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

